Five TikTok Books I Refuse to Read

Opinions of a literary fiction fanatic

Vivian Stevenson
Coffee Time Reviews
4 min readAug 25, 2023

--

A dark haired person sitting on stairs reading an antique book.
Photo by Tima Miroshnichenko from Pexels

I saw a trend where readers list hyped books they refuse to read, and I wanted to hop on the trend. I want to preface this article by saying that I don’t want to offend anyone for what they read. If you’re reading, then that’s all that matters. I understand we all have preferences. I thought this would be fun, and I’ll never discourage someone from reading a specific book unless it’s blatantly problematic.

Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros

Fourth Wing is a “romantasy” novel about a war college where the people who attend either graduate or die. It also includes dragons who won’t bond with fragile humans.

I’ve seen this book everywhere and not just on TikTok. I work in a library, and although the hype for this came nowhere near Colleen Hoover, it was still pretty popular.

I don’t want to read this because I’m not a huge fantasy reader, which isn’t the book’s fault. The second reason is the lower ratings I noticed and the reasons for those ratings. I’ve read a lot about the romance being very cringe, the writing being just okay, and that it’s incredibly formulaic. I can’t base my opinion on the high ratings; I need both sides. I enjoy a weird book, and when multiple people say a book is formulaic, that makes me run the other way.

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

This story follows Lily and Ryle, who form a new relationship, but Lily is overwhelmed due to thoughts about her ex, Atlas. Lily and Ryle’s relationship is in danger when Atlas reenters the stage.

I’ve read Colleen Hoover and enjoyed her books, so I know how she writes. However, I’ve heard more and more about her as an author, and I’m unsure if I want to read from her again. I’ve also read reviews that talk about how problematic this story is. There’s a difference between bringing awareness to something and just using it for entertainment. That’s how I choose whether or not to read a story.

Normal People by Sally Rooney

This book follows Connell and Marianne, two very different people. Connell is popular and sporty; Marianne is very private and quiet. Sparks fly when Connell picks up his mom from her housekeeping job.

I tried reading this story when it was released and couldn’t progress past a certain point. A specific sentence toward the beginning made me uncomfortable, and I just gave up. I didn’t document it anywhere, so I can’t put it in this article. I’m also not going to watch the show.

The Housemaid by Freida McFadden

This story is recommended for fans of The Woman in the Window, The Girl on the Train, and The Wife Between Us. It follows a woman who begins a new nanny job to have a fresh start, but the family she works for is odd and unsettling.

I don’t know if I’m against this specific story, or if thrillers have been ruined for me in general. I don’t want to disrespect anyone’s reading taste, but I don’t think there’s a thriller out there that could surprise me. They all include a nanny, cheating, or something that seems paranormal but isn’t. I just refuse to pick another one up.

Happy Place by Emily Henry

Harriet and Wyn have been inseparable partners since college, but they recently had a falling out and haven’t told anyone. They go to a cottage with their friends as a getaway and pretend everything is normal. Little do they know, their feelings for each other haven’t dissipated.

I’m not sure which side of the internet I have entered, but I’ve noticed that more and more people are not interested in Emily Henry’s books. Her stories fall into the category “if you’ve read one, you’ve read them all.” If I read books by one author, they need distinguishing aspects. I don’t want formulaic and forgettable, but rather diversity and depth.

The most important takeaway from this trend is awareness of your reading tastes. I don’t want to read a story and rate it poorly if I don’t enjoy the genre, tropes, or synopsis. I’m not going to waste my time, and it avoids negative reviews. Just because I’m not interested in these doesn’t mean you shouldn’t give them a chance.

Connect With Me:

You can become a member by using my link. I will receive a small cut of the membership at no additional cost to you.

Medium | Goodreads

--

--

Vivian Stevenson
Coffee Time Reviews

An avid reader who dabbles in art and baking along the way.