Not All Strength Is Physical: Book Review of ‘Fourth Wing’

Gives a new meaning to ride or die.

Phoebe Richardson
Coffee Time Reviews
3 min readJun 27, 2023

--

Photo by Jonathan Kemper on Unsplash

Content warning: Violence, death, murder.

If you’re on the bookish side of TikTok, known as BookTok, then you’ve heard of “Fourth Wing” By Rebecca Yarros. If you’re not, let me introduce you.

Fourth Wing is a new fantasy book that is so widely popular that both bookstores and suppliers have sold out of copies. Those that haven’t read it will be waiting for the next printing run.

The story takes place in a fantasy world of humans and dragons. In the kingdom of Navarre, when you reach the age of twenty-one, you choose to enter one of the four quadrants (Healers, Infantry, Scribe and Riders) at Basgiath War College. Violet Sorrengail has trained her whole life to enter the Scribe Quadrant; however, the General (aka her mother) has other plans.

Violet has had only six months to prepare for the next three years in the Riders Quadrant, where she will fight to survive training, challenges, competitions and, the most dangerous of all, dragons. That is if she survives the entry challenge.

And if that wasn’t enough, Violet already has multiple targets on her back for being her mothers' daughter. Surviving and proving herself will take everything she has.

What I liked

I haven’t read much fantasy in quite a while, so I am incredibly grateful that I read this book because now I am out of my fantasy reading slump.

The tension between Xaden and Violet is perfect for a slow-burn enemies-to-lovers Romantasy. The violent family history they share makes them instant enemies and adds yet another life-or-death stake for Violet to overcome.

I enjoyed seeing the different relationship dynamics change throughout the story as Violet’s character develops and grows into her own person.

I loved the fast pace. The constant high risks and jumping straight into action instead of long world-building or history really helped move the plot along. For a 498-page book, it was a fast read that I desperately wanted to finish in one sitting. Unfortunately, I had to put it down and go to work, but trust me; it was all I was thinking and talking about.

The representation throughout the entire book was amazing. There were people of colour, disabled (Deaf character who signed and Violet has Ehlers-Danlos syndrome) and LGBTQIA+ characters. The way Rebecca sprinkled the representation throughout the book instead of info-dumping or shoving wokeness down our through was great.

I especially loved that Violet has EDS because my bookish best friend also has it. Many times throughout reading this, I was reminded of her. Rebecca and her children also have EDS, so this point of view was incredible to see. I found it so beautifully written. The emphasis on different kinds of strength made me, and I imagine many other readers dealing with varying conditions, feel seen and heard.

What I Didn’t Like

Dail.

Seriously there wasn’t anything in this book that I really didn’t like. The character of Dail annoyed and pissed me off, but that’s his character.

I have heard some criticisms from other readers. However, I personally can’t fault this book.

Favourite Quotes

“Violet deals with more pain before lunch than you do in an entire week. If any of my children is capable of surviving the Riders Quadrant, it’s her.”

“Not all strength is physical.”

“It hurts to rearrange everything you think you know. Lies are comforting. Truth is painful.”

“But most importantly, if I go, if I hide… I’ll never know if I’m good enough to make it here. And while I might not survive if I stay, I’m not sure I can live with myself if I leave.”

“Your brain is your best weapon.”

“But I will not run. I wouldn’t be standing here if I’d quit every time something seemed impossible to overcome, I will not die today.”

“Killing someone isn't the only way to destroy them.”

Final Thoughts

I loved this book. I give it five stars. I cannot thank Rebecca Yarros enough for writing this and getting me out of my fantasy slump.

If you’re looking for a romantasy (fantasy/romance) enemies-to-lovers slow burn with dragons, high stakes, and an easy/fast read, then this is definitely for you.

--

--

Phoebe Richardson
Coffee Time Reviews

Looking for a good book? I write book reviews, recommendation & general bookish content. My preferred genres are fantasy, mystery/thriller & sometimes romance.