A Modern Day Poem

Snippets from a colorful, chaotic and charismatic life

Parul Kapoor | Writer
The Orange Journal
Published in
3 min readJun 7, 2022

--

Image courtesy : Vector Images

Being a millennial parent is a tough ballgame. Not only are we trying to don many hats, but we are also trying to maintain our sanity due to the undaunting pressures and the myriad jobs which we need to handle at home, work or school front. It requires skills of great managers, leaders and often politicians (to make diplomatic statements duh!) to become a millennial parent and more specifically to become a millennial mother, where we want the best for our future generations and also need our dose of wine, some spa therapy and a bucket full of wanderlust!

Here once again I put my thoughts in the form of poetry to infuse some fun into our stressed lives. I feel poetry takes the whole concept to another level as on one hand its fluid, but on the other hand it is challenging to bring out the nuances of the subject while keeping the tone intact. What I love about poetry is that

It gives me the creativity to squeeze laughter, emotions and drama in between handful carelessly strewn lines

So, go ahead and enjoy this outpour which might resonate with you if you are a millennial and a parent!

I sprint over a hurdle to reach the flame
dancing on one toe I ace this game
I twirl and catch the specks of dust
remove the cobwebs, this is my list of wanderlust
The pile of clothes and the stacks of dominos
they are ready to crumble, oh catch them while I strike a pose!
The scattered books resemble volcano rocks
careful honey, the floor is lava — jump onto that box!
The dishes are greasy, laden with citrus
don’t worry let me don the hat of the mighty dish-mistress
The floor is stained from the wine last night
Oh, I spilled it accidently, please don’t mind
The laundry is done I need to put them away
these maids don’t come on time I should fire them today
The pasta water has boiled, I must simmer it down
I don’t like the color of the sauce, this golden brown
The school assignment is top on my to-do list
You should check that new tutor out, Oh I insist!
These unending, everyday chores turn me into a meticulous juggler
Oh, but don’t be afraid I am no smuggler
What I do crave for although is a life full of laughter, joy and some unadulterated fun
For this life is given to us only once!

© Parul Kapoor, 2022. All rights reserved.

I would love to hear your comments on this light-hearted fun-but-realistic & relatable poetry with snippets from our colorful, chaotic and charismatic lives.

Image courtesy: picturequotes.com

If you like what I write, encourage me by sending in some cheery claps !

Read my post on parenting in the times of Covid which discusses the associate challenges in these modern, pandemic-struck times with few adaptable suggestions. Tap on the link to read the entire post!

toj

Follow The Orange Journal so you don’t miss a post. Do you love to write about self-improvement and personal development? Learn how to be added as a writer here. 🍊

--

--

Parul Kapoor | Writer
The Orange Journal

An urbanist who binges on books, thrives on writing and romanticizes poetry. I write about mindful growth. Subscribe to my Substack newsletter