Inspired By Other Medium Writers: Music

Cover Songs; Better Than The Original?

Chapter 1

Francis B.
10 min readJun 29, 2022

--

Photo by Ben Collins on Unsplash

What is A Cover Song?
Are They Better Than The Original?
Are they a copout for the untalented?
Do they have a place in the pantheon of the greatest music?
Can they be a source of Great Inspiration?…. Read On.

Before we dive in, a point. While this article is primarily an opinion piece, its purpose is to see if you come away with, a different understanding of a genre you might not have given much thought to previously. Through the embedded links I hope you’ll find this journey an adventure “Down the Rabbit Hole of Musical Indulgence”. If you can forgive the overused metaphor.

If you read until the end, (of this series within a series) I am going to run with the idea that a great song can inspire a lot of other people to cover it.

If you missed my prologue:

--

--

Francis B.

32K Views - Top Writer in Music. I write about Travel, Food, Inspiration, Music, & Film. I Publish/Edit 7 Publications. See my "About Me" article.