Travel Series

Curious Fact — There Are 6,900 Languages!

What happens when a language becomes a barrier?

Sharing Randomly
4 min readJan 4, 2022

--

Photo by Jeremy Bezanger on Unsplash

If you are like me and are still holding back on traveling, why not take the time to learn a new language? It’s not that much of an easy task but I’m sure it can be really beneficial! And if you look into some apps, they declare that only 15–30 mins a day can really help, so why not?

I’m thinking about revising and practicing the languages I already know since I feel I can do so much to improve and there are so many more I would love to venture on. I just find languages so amusing and powerful!

I once read a book by Khaled Hosseini that stated something on the lines that places are like doors you can go to, but languages are the keys that allow you to take in the culture. What a beautiful way of life if you ask me.

Some people like to go to different kinds of places but what happens if you are a newbie to that language or just don’t know it at all? For this piece, I would like to mention the bravery of a friend of mine who decided to not just travel, oh no, but to live in China without even knowing Mandarin! Now that is to take a leap. He works as an English teacher and is now confident in Chinese but man I bet those first few months could’ve been troubling.

--

--

Sharing Randomly

Just a normal woman with lots to share. I write about art, mental health, entrepreneurship, and lots more. Support me: https://ko-fi.com/sharingrandomly