How to learn the programming language you like?

Santhusha Janana Mudannayaka
The Beginner’s Guide
7 min readMay 6, 2022
Learning to program picture
https://media.nature.com/lw800/magazine-assets/d41586-019-00653-5/d41586-019-00653-5_16459152.jpg

In my previous article, I talked about “How to select your first Programming language?”. Now, I think you may have selected a programming language. So, the next question will be “How can I learn the programming language I selected?”.

I should say, Actually, Coding is the process of translating and writing codes from one language to another. But, Programming is the process of building an executable program that can be used to carry out proper machine-level outcomes. It’s important to know the difference between programming and coding.

So, In this article, I would like to tell my story and give my advice from my experience. It may help you to continue your journey without any obstacles like me.

Contents

  1. Ways to learn to code
  2. Stack Overflow Developer Survey
  3. My story
  4. What’s next?

1. Ways to learn to program

There are many ways to learn to code. Someone’s way won’t work for you. So, it makes easy the process and reduces the time to learn when you selected the best way for you to learn coding. Here, I have listed several popular methods to learn code.

  • Tutor
  • Video Tutorials
  • Non-video Tutorials
  • Coding Bootcamp
https://www.nwesd.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/11/Ed-Talks-Ed-Tech.jpg

So, let’s discuss both pros and cons of each way.

Tutor

The most common way of learning new things still in the world is learning from a teacher. So, you can even learn to code from a teacher.

Pros:

  1. Compared to other ways of learning, you cannot ask for the things you don’t understand, what I mean was that yes there are sites like Stack Overflow but they troll out with newbies, but with a tutor, you can freely ask your problem and can learn easily
  2. Sometimes, faster the speed of learning
  3. The tutor is knowledgeable of the subject and who knows what you should learn first and what comes next
  4. More individual learning experience
  5. Can concentrate on weaknesses
Learn to code by a tutor picture
https://images.squarespace-cdn.com/content/v1/5ae78fdd2714e5bd8a3f399b/1563978375420-2H0AD67BY7F77RMA0690/image-asset.jpeg?format=750w

Cons:

  1. Can be costly
  2. The quality of the tutor greatly varies
  3. Some tutors may not have a suitable qualification
  4. Don’t have a chance to overcome problems ownself

Video Tutorials

The most common way of learning to code is learning through Online resources. Learning through video content on Youtube, Online courses on Coursera, Udemy, Sololearn, edX, Khan Academy, etc. is considered this way of learning.

Pros:

  1. Can learn at your own pace
  2. YouTube contents are free of charge (More people can access them)
  3. Videos can be rewatched as often as needed.
  4. Can learn fast (Depends on you)
  5. Flexibility of learning
  6. Convenience and Accessibility
Learn to code by videos picture
https://i0.wp.com/gauravtiwari.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/3784896.jpg?resize=1160%2C773&quality=100&ssl=1

Cons:

  1. Online courses can be costly
  2. Not every video on YouTube is reliable (Thumbnails will trick you)
  3. Part of the content has to purchase(The first part on youtube is free, the other part has to purchase)
  4. Hard to select a better course (As there are millions of courses out there)
  5. YouTube advertisements maybe disturb your learning
  6. You need to have an internet connection to access it.
  7. Some people say “Don’t YouTube”
Youtube related picture
screenshot by author

Non-video Tutorials

The most common way of learning to code is learning through Online resources. Learning through Books, Websites(W3Schools, GeeksforGeeks, freeCodeCamp, Codecademy, etc.) can be considered this way of learning.

Pros:

  1. More organized
  2. Can learn at your own pace
  3. Most contents are free of charge (More people can access them)
  4. Can be rewatched as often as needed.
  5. Can learn fast (Depends on you)
  6. Flexibility of learning
  7. Convenience and Accessibility

Cons:

  1. Has to buy some books
  2. Hard to select a better one

Coding Bootcamp

A Coding Bootcamp is an intensive program that teaches students necessary skills in a short amount of time, including coding in a variety of languages and other stuff.

Pros:

  1. Quicker than some other ways
  2. Immediate Applicable Skills
  3. Narrow Focus
  4. Practical (Hands-on) Curriculum
https://learnerszonehome.files.wordpress.com/2020/01/codingpic.jpg

Cons:

  1. Can be costly
  2. Preparation varies
  3. Too fast to keep up

You may have a broad understanding of the ways you can use to learn to code than before.

2. Stack Overflow Developer Survey

Stack OverFlow Developer Survey picture
https://149351115.v2.pressablecdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/08/blog-dev-survey-2021-results.png

I told you what Stack OverFlow Developer survey is, in my previous article. According to Stack OverFlow Developer survey 2021, most people use online resources like videos, and blogs to learn to code. Sometimes, it also fits you, maybe not.

Ways of learning to code picture
screenshot by author

According to Stack OverFlow Developer survey 2021, Coders start young: over 50% of respondents wrote their “Hello world” code between the ages of 11 to 17.

Age of coders picture
screenshot by author

So, it’s important to be as soon as possible. But, Don’t be worried or over-excited. Just learn to code. Believe me, worth it.

It’s common that get errors and stuck when coding. So, you have to overcome them. So, According to Stack OverFlow Developer survey 2021, respondents most often use Google when they get stuck or visit Stack Overflow.

What do when got stuck picture
screenshot by author

3. My story

So now, You can listen to my story. I wrote my “Hello World” code when I was 19 years old, back in 2020. It was,

print(“Hello World”)

Yes, I started to learn Python as my first programming language.

As far as I remember, I watched this YouTube tutorial and followed along with that. He was a great instructor. Almost all the things, he taught were more understandable.

The first video tutorial I watched Thumbnail
The first video tutorial I watched

After spending 2–3 months practicing in various ways, I decided to jump into Intermediate level Python. So, again I searched for a video on YouTube. I found this video.

The second video tutorial I watched Thumbnail
The second video tutorial I watched

It really confused me. Some parts were not understood.

When this time, I got to know that Python can’t be used to build some cool Web Apps directly. So, that reduced my interest in Python. Because I wanted to build some cool projects that can be really used to solve some problems directly or to test my knowledge by building projects.

Then, I started to learn HTML and CSS. They were studied by me when I was at school. But, I had forgotten some things. So, I was able to learn them quickly. Then, I started to learn JavaScript through this video, I guess. Also, I followed some tutorials on W3Scools.

JavaScript tutorial I watched Thumbnail
JavaScript tutorial I watched

Meanwhile, I got a scholarship to learn at Coursera. It was a golden opportunity for me as I could have access to get any course free of cost. So, I got a python course which was created by University of Michigan with the aim to complete the whole specialization.

University of Michigan Photo
https://yourtimetofly.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/University-of-Michigan-sign-1536x985.jpg

I completed course by course. It took me some time to complete it as I got some other courses from Coursera. Finally, I was able to complete it in January of 2022.

My certificate — screenshot by author

Meanwhile, I was able to build some cool Websites and Web Apps using HTML, CSS, and JavaScript I learned before.

Participating in hackathons made me strong and skillful. For those hackathons also build some Websites and Web Apps.

So, That’s my story.

I hope to write about Hackathons in my future article. Follow me, To get notifications from future articles.

4. What’s next?

I think you have enough knowledge about how to learn to code. So, depending on yourself, select the way that is best suited for you. Start to code today. I wish you Good luck! Happy Coding!

Don’t forget to Follow me on Medium by clicking/tapping the “Follow” button. Make sure you click/tap on the “✉️” icon, so you don’t miss any of my future articles.

Open to your responses. I hope to talk to you in my next article . . .

--

--