I Refuse To Be Boxed In And Limit My Writing

Rebecca Leong
4 min readSep 24, 2021

When I started writing, the mainstream advice given from the internet was that in order to become a successful blogger, I had to find a niche and get good at said niche to grow an audience of readers. I agree that this is mostly true, in fact looking around at the majority of writers, bloggers, and Youtube content creators out there who have made it on their platform, most of them have a niche and a target audience of followers. Some of these content creators that are currently widely popular are focused on topics of productivity, personal finance, health, or food and cooking. These are some of the popular categories of content in social media and I fully understand why. I myself follow content on productivity and personal finance and have subscribed to productivity Youtubers such as Ali Abdaal or personal finance bloggers like Mr Money Moustache.

But personally, I decided against writing only on niche topics, especially not at this point of my writing journey. Why? The most basic answer is simply because I want to grow my writing skill, not only in finding out my style of writing but more so in content. I have interests in a vast pool of topics that include parenting, motherhood, early childhood education, personal finance, productivity, food, movies, music, and finally the topic of writing in itself.

--

--