KNOW THYSELF, HEAL THYSELF

Not Everyone Can Climb Mount Everest And That’s Okay

It’s my story of building shame resilience.

Purbita Chakraborty
12 min readJan 21, 2022

--

Around 15–16 years ago, I got my first driving license. However, just after I got the license, I met with a car accident. The accident wasn’t fatal, but it could have been.

Luckily the chassis of the car got stuck on a big block of concrete, otherwise, the car would have smashed into a wall and I can’t even imagine what the consequences would have been had that concrete block not been there.

But this incident robbed me of the courage to drive forever. I could not bring myself behind the steering wheel again. I felt I wasn’t fit to drive a car.

My Fear against Driving

I know people go through more critical accidents. My sister’s accident was way more fatal.

Her 8 seater SUV was hit by another car. It toppled over and got totaled. Her one-year-old daughter was hanging upside down (but thankfully secured to seatbelt) when the emergency service broke the door and rescued her.

A few years prior to this, a colleague of mine was killed in a car accident. Another colleague was driving the car when he lost control and hit the lane divider. They were both…

--

--

Purbita Chakraborty

"Where the mind is without fear" - Technical Writer, Wellbeing, Design & Travel Writer, Advocate for Diversity & Inclusion - http://aframe4life.com/