Oblivion

Daily attempt at poetry: Day 2 of 30

Amy Rosie
2 min readDec 30, 2021
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

the cold marble floor welcomed my tired skin
head to toe, it shivered, but better than the incessant spin
the record still played, the dancers still swayed,
my body charged down like a cascade

kicked the high heels off, my feet went sore,
glances were exchanged, eye rolls galore
is she seeking attention or pulling a leg
in a round hole they’d call me a lone square peg

tell me, when I may embrace the blackout
tell me, when to let loose the clenched veins
when should I forego the pain of sentience?
hasty, I prayed, as my body yielded its resilience.

— Amy

Hello there, this is a poem about the time when I collapsed on the ground during a dance practice at the university. I was dehydrated and exhausted, and fainting on the spot meant I could actually close my eyes and rest for once.

I am doing a daily challenge of poetry for 30 days and this is Day 2. I have challenged myself to write impromptu poetry each day, and so I just hope I do not run out of ideas :)

If you’d like, please check out my Day 1 poem below:

Would you please consider buying me a coffee? Thank you so much. As an unemployed graduate, this means a lot!

This thought-provoking poem by Rita Duponty made me reflect on the slippery nature of ‘time’ and its cruel irreversible characteristic that affects our lives. Please give it a read.

Love.

--

--

Amy Rosie

Moonchild. Agoraphobic. Bisexual. Works on books and caffeine. English honours and Literature major.