Wish List

Suma Narayan
Dec 21, 2021

--

Photo by K. Mitch Hodge on Unsplash

I wish I could, like Scrooge,

Return to the scenes of my past,

And bestow a smile here,

A touch there,

Light a dark moment with a luminous cliché:

Smiled more often,

Quaked less, with fear.

Counted all the rainbows in my sky

And not the floods that displaced me.

Realized that love trusted blindly, and that,

For every Ibsenian doll’s house,

There are ten happy marriages.

©️ 2021 Suma Narayan. All Rights Reserved.

Shoutout to David Rudder and his exquisite poem on arriving at an oasis after moments of insecurity and indecision:

--

--

Suma Narayan

Loves people, cats and tea: believes humanity is good by default, and that all prayer works. Also writes books. Support me at: https://ko-fi.com/sumanarayan1160