How Solo Travel Shaped The Person I Am Today

Darren Lee Yong
Coffee With a Side of Thoughts
4 min readFeb 18, 2020
Me at the Bonneville Salt Flats in Utah, USA.

Hold on. You must be thinking, ‘Not another privileged millennial article on travel’. Well, I don’t deny it. It probably is. Travelling is a luxury and I acknowledge that it’s a privilege that not everyone can afford. But here’s a personal take on how my past experiences moulded me to be the Me of today.

I grew up in tropical city-state Singapore. It’s a melting pot of cultures, a country like no other. However geographically-speaking, Singapore is tiny—So small you can reach one end of the island-state in under an hour. Which is why a favourite pastime of mine (as with many Singaporeans) is travelling beyond the little red dot.

My first solo trip was in May 2011 in Liverpool, UK when I was there on an internship program. It was a weeklong bank holiday and what a perfect opportunity it was to explore outside of the city. But my best friend Luke (My internship buddy then) was going on his own trip. I was afraid to travel on my own—It’d be my first time. But I also didn’t want to waste this golden chance and stay indoors. I had to go out.

I mustered every ounce of courage I had and planned an extreme trip to scale the tallest mountain in Wales, Mount Snowdon, at 1085m tall. I began my journey by taking a combination of bus and train to Llanberis, the village by the mountains. My ascend was an arduous 3.5 hours climb up and mind you, I had zero experience hiking up a mountainous trail. It was a test of my limited endurance and stamina.

The trail accompanied emerald blue lakes with copper deposits through the Miner’s Path

But my efforts paid off. I was rewarded with a breathtaking view at the peak. A phenomenal one. My problems felt so insignificant compared to the vast mountain range inching the heavens. The climb was life-changing. Quite literally as it was the turning point in my life when I decided I wasn’t going to pursue Sciences as a career. Ever since then, I’ve yearned for more bold experiences like these.

Oh young me.. at the peak of Mount Snowdon, Wales (2011)

Travelling solo taught me a ton of things. For starters, it helped me rid of ethnocentrism. I’d spend time during my travels observing people going about their daily lives. I’d try my best not to be a tourist. I was more aware of my surroundings and kept an open mind. I’d notice the clothes they wear. The activities they’re doing. Their spoken language. Phrases/idioms unheard of. Interactions with one another. Food they eat… Everything, was a new stimuli to take in.

Ethnocentrism — “the evaluation of other cultures according to preconceptions originating in the standards and customs of one’s own culture.”

Internalising the fact that people around the world can be so different, it made me aware of my own prejudices and how I could combat it. I don a ‘worldly lens’ to be less myopic and broaden my perspective. My ignorance dissipating away the more I observe.

Through my travels, I’ve also accumulated stories. Interesting and memorable stories that I hold dear. In a new environment, I’d challenge myself to try new things out of my comfort zone. I said ‘Yes’ to doing things that’d scare the hell out of me. And through that I was able to do more out of the norm activities, eat exotic foods like raw horse sashimi (tastes like tuna), and talking to strangers (some whom became friends I still keep in touch with).

Challenging myself to eat 106 bowls of Wanko soba in Morioka, Tohoku
Awesome experiences and way more awesome people whom I met during my adventures

I’ve grown through my trips as well. It was uncomfortable being alone for a prolonged period of time at the start. Humans are social and we long for social interaction. But I’ve grown accustomed to it. I grew to like the alone time. Especially in a fast-paced city like Singapore where it’s hard to find moments of solitude, I take these trips as a chance to gain quiet and solemnness.

Being in an unfamiliar environment is also a perfect opportunity to take stock of life. I’d reflect the recent months on whether I’ve made progress or took a few steps back in any areas of my life. And then calibrate the areas that need work.

View of the Pacific Ocean from a coast in Hachinohe in Tohoku Prefecture, Japan

Solo travel is not the same for everyone. But I found that it works pretty darn well for me.

With the absence of noise, I get to hear myself more.

Coffee for thought: When are your quiet moments for reflection and rejuvenation? What do you learn when you’re in an unfamiliar environment?

--

--