Are You a Writer Because You Write?

I write because I am a writer

Mercy Writes
Cogito Corner
2 min readSep 21, 2024

--

Photo by Nick Morrison on Unsplash

What is writing to you?

In my early days of studying Psychology, my coach would always say to people who ask him his reasons for coding.

“ I am not a code singer because I code, I code because I am a code singer.”

Don’t get confused, I was too when I heard this.

He is a backend developer and a psycho analyst.

I asked him what it meant and he said “my work doesn’t define who I am, rather I define what my work is.”

I kept this saying in my heart, wondering when it would become useful to me.

The day I started the medium journey, I knew it became so relevant.

Most people are writers because they write. They write because it is what they do, an activity, a job to earn. To them “writing is simply putting words on a paper”.

Their writing defines them, therefore when the unpleasant days come, they leave writing into another world. Anyone can write but that does not make them a writer.

Between, writing is not the only characteristic of a writer.

Just as playing an instrument, cooking & painting doesn’t automatically make you a musician, chef, or a painter, writing doesn’t automatically make you a writer.

If you are here mainly to write, you are not a writer, you are just a content creator.

Once you face a challenge, you blame external circumstances, get discouraged and eventually back out.

But a true writer who writes because he is a writer wouldn’t leave on unpleasant days. He defines his writing.

Being a writer is an inherent part of his identity.

He writes because it is a natural expression of his thoughts, emotions and experiences. Just like how we breathe and speak naturally, writers write naturally.

He is a writer because he expresses art through his writing with a unique purpose.

There is a deep seated need to write which is not dictated by external validation or success.

The passion to write burns within them, the curiosity & hunger drives them to search and research, the heart of open mindedness dwells in them and the resilient spirit energises them.

A true writer displays these and many more traits because they don’t just write, they give influential value.

I write because I am a writer.

--

--

Mercy Writes
Cogito Corner

A poet striving towards self development through the power of words. A creative writer.