Raspberry PI + React JS + Java

1. Setting up my development environment

Sushree Soumya Mishra
COHAD
2 min readApr 29, 2022

--

Here I am again with something that I wanted to do from a long time but never really got the motivation to do it.

Recently I got my Raspberry PI 4 and I want to document everything I am doing with it!

There are more resources on Python available everywhere but Java is not less than anyone!

Let’s begin…

I Googled about the OS installation and the funniest part is that when I read that “You have to write the image to the SD card”, I actually copied and pasted it to the SD card and double clicked it. hahaha.

It was great to know about the “image writer” that I was supposed to use to “write” the image onto the SD card.

Google about it. You’ll get a lot of good resources to do this.

When I switched on my TV and the Raspberry PI connected to it, it was amazing to watch my TV being utilized for something amazing!

Initial setup:

I typed a few commands in the Raspberry PI terminal:

1- sudo apt install default-jdk

2- sudo apt install maven

3- sudo apt install nodejs

4- sudo apt install npm

I then installed VS CODE which was there in the following path:

Applications Menu (the Raspberry PI logo;top left corner)→Preferences → Recommended Software → Programming →Visual Studio Code

UPDATE THE PACKAGES:

Run the following commands:

1- sudo apt update

This will show you if any package can be updated.

I had 11 packages to be updated.

2- sudo apt full-upgrade

This will upgrade everything that’s possible.

JAVA Setup:

I have then installed the required extensions:

You can refer this for Java: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uq4GjRF_860

This video really helped me because I had never used VS Code for Java before.

REACT App:

In the VS CODE, the easiest way to create a react app is to run the following command:

npx create-react-app first-ui

But ooooppss!!

I had an older version of node. So to upgrade it, I found an excellent reference:

From the above link, here are the commands:

1- curl -sL https://deb.nodesource.com/setup_17.x | sudo -E bash -

2- sudo apt install nodejs

Then I tried running the npx command in VS Code again. It worked!

Therefore, the initial setup is done.

Now I can start experimenting…

--

--