The Night Me And Your Daddy Met

“A man walked up and stood next to me. My goosebumps rose like flowers. I didn’t look at him. Not yet.”

Nia Simone McLeod
coiled

--

photos from canva pro / edit done by author

The painting was violently ugly. It looked like overcooked minute oats, tinted dirt brown and beetle green, speckled with orange paint, pink glitter, and googly eyes — just because.

I squinted one eye, bent my neck to the side, and continued to stare at the painting. I wanted to see what the curator saw, what made them place it in a room filled with far stronger pieces.

“Wow.” I took a long sip from my glass of sangria.

“It’s something…special.” A man walked up and stood next to me. My goosebumps rose like flowers. I didn’t look at him. Not yet.

“It speaks to me,” I said.

“What does it say?”

I paused, listening, until their words became clear, “Damn, why am I ugly as shit?”

Our giddy laughter filled the room in seconds. Those around us, with white-powered scalps that would have made George Washington all too proud, low-heeled shoes that click-clacked on marble floors, noses so upturned angels had a full view of their sprawling nose hairs, damn near broke their necks to glare at us.

--

--

Nia Simone McLeod
coiled

Writer covering whatever piques my interest | she/her | Subscribe to my newsletter: https://ohwrite.substack.com/welcome