BlackRock´s Spot Bitcoin ETF leaves backdoor open to regulators

Daniel Jensen
Coinmonks
3 min readJul 17, 2023

--

If you have followed me and my writing it is probably not a gigantic shock that I care about privacy and the individual’s right to it. So what about BlackRock´s Bitcoin ETF is it that got me riled up this time? Read on to find out.

BlackRock´s Bitcoin ETF

I have previously written about the surprise the SEC must have gotten finding out that BlackRock’s partner in Surveillance-Sharing Agreement, SSA, was in fact Coinbase. And they were to serve as the watchmen if you like, to surveil and prevent market manipulation. And if they find any data that was looking suspicious, they are to pass it on to regulators, ETF providers, and listing exchanges.

What now has come to light with BlackRock´s Bitcoin ETF application is a second similar program to the SSA. But if we take a closer look at it we will see that its intent and purpose is a very different one. And this could very well be the thing that tips the scales in favor of BlackRock. What I am talking about is an information-sharing inclusion. And this really puts the shoe on the other foot so to say.

As with any new markets, if BlackRock’s name’s going to be on it, we’re going to make sure it’s safe and sound and protected, -Larry Fink BlackRock CEO

--

--

Daniel Jensen
Coinmonks

I am a patchy reader and writer of words. I normally write about Crypto, technology and a little gaming. But anything that sparks my interest can show up.