The Never-ending Quest for 'The Best'!

Sriram Balasubramanian
Coinmonks

--

Why do people continue to hunt for "The Best" in everything, only to fail miserably?

One of my friends (let's call him Alex) called me up over the weekend and asked me for some financial advice.

Alex: Hey Sriram, I hope you are doing well. I have received a bonus at work, and I wanted to invest it.

Me: Alright, Congratulations!

Alex: By the way, what do you think about mutual funds? Which one should I pick up?

Me: Anything okay. Do you have a financial plan? Do you have a set of goals?

Alex: Oh! That's not required. I want to invest in some best funds and get good returns over the long term.

Me: Great. How long do you want to stay invested? When do you need these funds back?

Alex: I don't know how long, but I have this excess cash to invest somewhere. Alternatively, can I buy Adani stocks? How about Reliance or HDFC Bank? Or, can you suggest some good stocks?

Me: Uh!Great. Why don't you invest the corpus in the top 50 stocks (In my mind Nifty 50 Index)

Alex: Oh no! That's too much diversification. I want a concentrated portfolio.

Me: Oh, nice. Great idea.

--

--

Sriram Balasubramanian
Coinmonks

Building WIBE to enable people to trade stocks to generate consistent cash flow. I enjoy writing on Wealth of all types!