Facebook/Meta is now an excellent platform for targetted crypto scam advertisements

anonymous
3 min readNov 12, 2021

--

I remember John Oliver saying “Calling Facebook a toilet is a little unfair to toilets”. He is right. Toilets are a place to rest, to clear your bladder or bowel. For many of us, it is also a place to open your crypto portfolio and check how are your crypto holdings doing. Facebook is rather a platform for inciting violence, spreading hate, extremism, and scams. The world would have been in a much better place without Facebook. I know Mr. Zuckerberg definitely agrees with this inside of his heart.
For the last few days, I have been bombarded with targeted advertisements by crypto scammers. Thinking about Facebook allowing these ads baffles me beyond words. The worst thing is when I report these kinds of ads, Facebook claims “The advertisement doesn’t violate our community standards and we decided not to remove it.”

Let me show you one of the many shocking scam advertisements I have received on November 11/2021. This ad is from the fake Trust Wallet Facebook page.

A piece of great news indeed for Shiba holders to earn a staggering 100 million Shiba Inu tokens. Wait, let’s open the page. Ok, only 6 people liked this page. So many people must have been rewarded, right?

Now, let’s open the website. To earn the 100 million tokens, we need to give them our Trust Wallet recovery phrases. Really? Ok, let’s do it. No, don’t do it. Never!!!!!!! OMFG.

Now, let’s do something but Meta of course ignores our report.

Of course, Facebook ignores my report and sent me this doesn’t violate their community standards. I will be deleting my Facebook.

--

--