How I Run a Polygon Node for Flashloan Bots

Use as little SSD as possible to save money

yuichiro aoki
Coinmonks
Published in
5 min readMay 27, 2022

--

Bor Logs

Summary

  • It takes at least 8 hours to set up a polygon node.
  • Cost of running a node is $470/month.
  • Use the pruned Bor snapshot to save money.

As I talked about in the previous story, I have been running a polygon node for 2 months for arbitrage flashloan trades. It costs $470 last month. Yes, it is a big expense, at least for me. So far I prefer using my own node to node API services like Alchemy because it’s so fast.

In this story, I will talk about how I run a polygon node with compute engine (GCP).

Increase SSD quota

At the time of this writing, a polygon node needs 1.2 TB of SSD disk space, so I have to increase the SSD quota of my GCP project because its default quota is 500 GB.

Create Instance

I set up my polygon node instance in the following settings.

compute engine instance settings

I followed the minimum requirements like 4 CPUs and 16 GB RAM. It seems those specs are okay for…

--

--