Ethereum IOT Kid Grounding Device I:How it works

Jackson Ng
Coinmonks

--

Photo by insung yoon on Unsplash

Internet of Trusted Things (IOTT) is a recently-coined term that explores the integration of Internet of Things (IOT) with Blockchain. To understand how this makes sense, just imagine the possibilities when IOT devices like a Smart Meter or a Smart Bulb read and write from the Blockchain and executes Smart Contract functions.

To explore IOTT, I went ahead to build a little project that puts together a few IOT kits that I have been tinkering with. I call it the Kid Grounder.

Kid Grounder

In my family, grounding is an effective form of punishment. What happens is that the kid at fault will be made to stand in the corner with not a slightest move allowed until she stays there long enough, or admits her mistake. The Kid Grounding device will automate this grounding process with the following tools:

  1. A PIR Sensor that tracked the number of times she moved.
  2. A button that lets her tells me that she needs assistance (often to just tell me that she is confessing her mistake).
  3. A User Interface to start and end the grounding process and to track the number of times she moved and called for assistance.

…and all these recorded on the Ethereum blockchain. Here are the reasons why Blockchain:

--

--