Let’s Make An Ethereum Simulation Game

Part 1: Inception

Alex Roan
Coinmonks
Published in
5 min readMar 28, 2020

--

Photo by Renith R on Unsplash

Introduction

I recently wrote an article on ERC721 tokens. To demonstrate their use, I used the example of a Pokemon-like game. It got me thinking of some of the games I couldn’t get enough of as a kid.

The hours I spent on my Gameboy Colour trying to catch ’em all must number in the hundreds if not thousands. As I grew older, my taste moved towards simulation games like The Sims, SimCity, and sports-oriented sims. One game, in particular, stands out more than others: Football Manager.

Sports Simulations

“Take over a football team and make it completely your own. From tactics and training, to transfers and trophies.” — footbalmanager.com

It’s an enticing prospect. You can finally compare yourself to the pros by running your team the way you think it should be run.

Backing up a little… Before I found out about Football Manager, there was a similar online game which took up a lot of my after-school time.

Sundayleague.com is of the same premise, except instead of simulating against a computer, you manage your team against other people. You play with fake generated players with funny names like Ben Dover. The pyramid system of leagues spans tens of levels…

--

--

Alex Roan
Coinmonks

CoFounder at Cyfrin. Previously: Chainlink Labs.