Web 3 Security — Setting Up My Ledger Hardware Wallet

Wasif M Rahman
Coinmonks
2 min readJul 20, 2022

--

I got my Ledger hardware wallet after a colleague lost all his NFTs to a spearfishing attack. This was months ago and as someone who is not particularly tech savvy, I held off on setting it up largely due to feeling intimidated with the process.

As I continued to amass a sizeable NFT collection, I became increasingly paranoid. I wouldn’t click on links or connect my wallet to new sites. I was also extremely trepidatious about any minting opportunities that came up. This caused me to effectively miss out on the current free mint meta for NFTs. Creating a burner wallet was an option but keeping track of my cryptoshit already felt like a part-time job and I just didn’t want to have more to manage.

It all became too overwhelming when I had a literal nightmare about losing all my hard-earned crypto and NFTs to a scam. I woke up in the middle of the night and checked my wallet…nothing showed up…my Phantom was just loading slowly but I went back to sleep believing I lost everything. I was already feeling shitty from how bad the market was doing so I didn’t even have it in me to deal with it.

Thankfully I realized in the morning that things were okay and I finally took steps to set up my Ledger hardware wallet. I am not going to lie…it was a bit tedious and time-consuming but once I had it set up, it all worked pretty smoothly and I could see how having a hardware wallet really ensured my digital security. Moreover, with the news of so many crypto firms collapsing recently, I now had a place to move and store my digital assets if needed.

I should have done this a long time ago. Maybe I could have slept a bit easier the last few months. If you don’t have a hardware wallet yet, do yourself a favor and get one. I am hearing far too many stories of people losing everything to scams and it feels like it’s happening every day now.

Thank you for reading.

New to trading? Try crypto trading bots or copy trading

Check out my unfiltered thoughts on Twitter:

https://twitter.com/wasifmrahman

Follow my career on LinkedIn:

https://www.linkedin.com/in/wasifmrahman/

My other Shower Thoughts on Medium:

https://medium.com/@wasifmrahman

--

--

Wasif M Rahman
Coinmonks

Ramen Connoisseur - Senior Manager of Web 3 Marketing at Gala Games