The Coker Connection

Coker University
Coker Stories
Published in
3 min readJun 19, 2017

Because College Should Be An Adventure

Starting college can be a stressful time. We get it. There’s paperwork and financial aid to navigate, dorm rooms to decorate and textbooks to locate. For some new students, coming to college will be the first time they’ve been away from home — and most will be leaving behind friends from high school and their hometowns. With all of that going on, it’s easy to forget that this is also an exciting time in a student’s life. After all, you only get one first semester at college!

“Coker Connection was definitely the highlight of my summer!”

While all new students are required to attend an orientation session, you do have some options. You could, of course, attend a traditional orientation session at the end of July. But it’s also nice to have an early start getting to know Coker and your future classmates (and it’s always fun to go rafting and rock climbing!). That’s where Coker Connection comes in. It’s part summer camp, part college orientation — and ALL an adventure!

McKenzie Hite, a communication and English double-major in her sophomore year at Coker, still remembers her experience: “Coker Connection was definitely the highlight of my summer! In just three days, I was able to meet the majority of my classmates, connect with some of the upperclassmen, find my lifelong friends, and push myself to try new things.”

“I felt more at home on campus in August because of the connections I made in the summer,” explains senior Emily Ek, a double major in psychology and history. Emily loved her experience so much that she now serves as the Coker Connection chair! “I wanted to give other freshmen the same awesome experience that I had. I wholeheartedly believe that Coker Connection helps to develop early but long-lasting relationships that you will cherish throughout the years.”

“I felt more at home on campus in August because of the connections I made in the summer.”

Ashton Knopf, a senior biology major, had a slightly different introduction to the Coker Connection. While Ashton did not participate in the Connection during her first year at Coker, she later wished that she had. This year, she’s making up for lost time as a member of the staff. “I jumped right on the chance to be a part of something that was so great…I wanted to help as many people as possible to gain new friendships, make new memories, and experience the college life before school even started.”

The 2017 Coker Connection kicks off on June 25, and will last through June 27. Registrations will be accepted through June 21, 2017.

Welcome to Coker, new Cobras! Get ready for an adventure!

--

--