Christian Baer
COLAGE
Published in
2 min readOct 13, 2017

--

Fall is in now in full force, and as we gear up for the end of the year, I am reflecting on family and growing up with COLAGE. Growing up with young lesbian parents in 80's Houston, Texas, I didn’t know any families that looked like mine.

For a long time, I referred to one of my parents as my aunt or my mom’s roommate, thinking that wasn’t a dead giveaway. And for many people, it wasn’t. The idea that two women could form a family didn’t occur to them. As I grew up, I learned who I could tell my full story and who to tell polite lies. The fear and embarrassment of my youth gradually became frustration and isolation. How many times did I need to explain my family or remind someone “which mom” I was talking about?

COLAGErs are faced with the choice of being closeted or coming out over and over again from a very young age. When I hear the youth of COLAGE tell their stories of finding each other early in their lives and of attending their first Family Week at two months old, I am filled with a sense of pride and gratitude. When I attend adult COLAGEr potlucks in LA, I feel like I’m meeting family. I am so grateful to have found this community that nourishes and empowers young people to be true to their full selves, and for the growing network of adult COLAGErs who “get it.”

Help COLAGE continue to grow and to reach more young people and families. We can’t do it without you! Please consider making a donation now.

--

--