Snooze

Shankar
Cold Brew Blogs
2 min readJun 25, 2024

--

Every morning, without fail, my alarm blares to life, shattering the peaceful silence. Groggily, I reach over and hit the snooze button. Just five more minutes, I tell myself, knowing full well that those five minutes will turn into ten, then fifteen, and sometimes even an hour. My bed so warm, so inviting, and the thought of leaving it feels like a betrayal to my own comfort.

I know, deep down, that for the day to go well, I should just get up at the first ring. I have heard about the many benefits of starting your day early, about how those precious morning hours can set the tone for productivity and success. But somehow, in those drowsy, half-asleep moments, none of that seems to matter.

So, the cycle continues. My alarm sounds again, and again, and each time I fumble for the snooze button, my resolve weakening with each tap. I tell myself I’ll regret this when I finally do get up, rushing through my morning routine, barely having time for breakfast or a moment of calm before the day’s demands take over. Yet, the allure of a few extra minutes in bed always wins out.

Eventually, I drag myself up, feeling a mix of frustration and resignation. I know this routine isn’t ideal, that I’m setting myself up for a rushed, chaotic start. But there’s something almost ritualistic about it now, a strange comfort in the predictable dance with my snooze button. Maybe tomorrow will be different, I think, as I stumble to the bathroom. Maybe tomorrow I’ll conquer the snooze and greet the day with open arms. Until then, I’ll continue to wrestle with my morning nemesis, that small but mighty button that seems to hold so much power over me.

--

--

Shankar
Cold Brew Blogs

Writer, Filmmaker, Podcaster, Musician || Couch and potato are my two favourite things. https://ramblingjoint.com/featured/home