Veloce Racing Drivers Answer Our Subscribers’ Questions

Collabio ® Official
Collabio Spaces
Published in
4 min readMay 6, 2021

Hi guys! Do you remember our post on Facebook where you could ask the Veloce Racing team just anything? We have some great news for you! Before the second race of the Extreme E Series starts, we’d like to share the thoughts of people for whom motorsport is not just entertainment, but their whole life!

Stéphane Sarrazin — a professional racing driver from France who has a long and diverse career in the sport, best known for his sportscar racing exploits — with six podium finishes in the legendary Le Mans 24 Hours, two Le Mans Series titles and multiple victories in the FIA World Endurance Championship.

Stéphane Sarrazin

Jamie Chadwick — one of the UK’s brightest young drivers with the earliest experience in the Ginetta Junior Championship, who is the first-ever female and youngest winner of the British GT Championship.

Jamie Chadwick

Enjoy the trip into the world of speed and some breathtaking driving with them!

1. As a Driver, you have to deal with crashes. How do you remain focused and continue to drive after such a stressful and negative experience?

Stéphane Sarrazin: It’s very important to not dwell on these things. Of course, they are disappointing and you feel sorry for the team who have put a lot of hard work in, but you have to pick yourself up and keep moving, otherwise, they will stay with you forever.

Jamie Chadwick: I think those experiences are good opportunities to grow, both professionally and personally. I like to review what happened and then see what I can do to avoid the same situation in the future.

2. Having to work with a teammate in the Extreme E Series, how does it differ from other motorsports races?

Stéphane Sarrazin: I have driven in endurance racing before so I am used to working together with my teammates, it’s obviously different from the normal forms of motorsport, but I like working together to develop the car and improve your speed.

Jamie Chadwick: I have only ever driven in single-seaters so there is only one person responsible for if you win or lose. In this series, you share everything with your teammate, so it’s actually been an enjoyable experience learning from Stéphane and being able to work through the data together.

3. Which car would you like your kids to drive in the future?

Stéphane Sarrazin: Of course I think the cars in the future will be electric so that will be what everyone is driving, and I think it’s all moving that way pretty quickly now. The development that we’re seeing in Extreme E and Formula E will all contribute to the technology in electric road vehicles.

Jamie Chadwick: I think everyone can see now that it has to be sustainable fuels that power the cars of the future and if they’re anything like the ODYSSEY 21, they’ll not lack any excitement in terms of power delivery and handling.

4. How do you stay focused during the race, do you ever worry about leaving an appliance on in the hotel room? Do you do any mental exercises to stay sharp and focused which enables you to block out everyday thoughts?

Stéphane Sarrazin: I try to stay focused before the start of the race, I make sure I have no other distractions so I can visualise the track and first corner. It’s very important to me to keep a clear head.

Jamie Chadwick: I find that once you’re on the grid and the adrenaline is flowing, nothing enters my mind apart from the next corner or how I’m going to overtake the car in front. When I focus, I truly focus, so I have no issues with distractions at all.

5. What was the biggest challenge for you before entering the Extreme E Series?

Stéphane Sarrazin: Le Mans for me is the biggest challenge this is in motorsport, 24 hours of continuous racing makes it such a mental and physical drain on all of the drivers involved.

Jamie Chadwick: Winning the W Series was obviously a huge milestone in my career. That championship was full of really talented women who were all hungry for success so that was a really challenging year for me, but I’m glad I came out on top in the end.

Are you inspired to have a drive now?

Well, if yes, don’t wait for the best moment! Get into your car, fasten the seatbelt, turn on your favourite music, roll down the windows and enjoy the breeze of speed!

If not, wait for the second race of Extreme E and subscribe to Collabio Spaces’ socials. We’ll keep you updated on the race, its date and time. ;)

--

--

Collabio ® Official
Collabio Spaces

Collabio is your way to boosting productivity thanks to both a top-notch app and our blog with dozens of useful tips. Join us and become even more productive!