Spotlight on Success: Keeping it Real with Dr. Bob

Exclusive Q & A with a down home southern girl living her dream

Maisha L. Cannon 💻
@TalentGenieWrites
4 min readApr 19, 2016

--

Photo used with permission from Dr. Bob.

Each year, thousands of actors flock to Hollywood to develop their raw creative talent. SAG-AFTRA notes that Los Angeles, California is home to more than 70,000 actors, many transplants from other states.

Born in Georgia and raised in Louisiana, actress Tameka Bob joins a growing number of Christian actors who intentionally seek out projects that allow them to represent their faith on-screen. What makes Tameka even more special is that not many actresses are also experienced mental health counselors and PhDs!

Join Tameka, aka Dr. Bob, as she discusses her adjustment to life in Hollywood, how she gives back to the acting community, and the importance of uncovering one’s purpose.

Maisha Cannon: What do you remember most about your first job?

Tameka Bob: I was a sales associate at JCPenney department store and I hated it.

I didn’t like standing all day long and attempting to sell accessories. Plus, it was a commission-based job. Needless to say, I didn’t make much money. It was torture!

MC: How was the initial transition from your hometown to the City of Angels?

TB: It was very different since Louisiana and California are at opposite ends of the spectrum. Louisiana has a small, community feel; Los Angeles can sometimes feel huge and unwelcoming.

Being part of a church community helped me get adjusted. Still, as I maneuvered my way through the entertainment industry, I found it difficult being without my family and securing employment.

MC: How did you combat those challenges?

TB: In an effort to come up with a plan to help others who experienced similar difficulties, CTY Coaching & Personal Development was birthed. CTY stands for “I Come To You.” It is a coaching service I provide to entertainment professionals to discover who they really are outside of the industry.

MC: Tell me about Dr. Bob’s Real Reality.

TB: Dr. Bob’s Real Reality is my baby — a new, vibrant and colorful talk show created to celebrate, educate and empower women to be fierce.

We celebrate real women and their stories.- Tameka Bob

We’ve all been there — maneuvering through life’s excitements and challenges without having a community to share it with.

Now, there’s a unique, creative and welcoming show that promotes emotional health, healthy relationships and education in a dynamic way. Clips from all shows are streamed on YouTube.

Be sure to watch.

MC: What fuels you during the day? What keeps you up all night?

TB: Actually, the answer is the same for both — purpose. Knowing what my purpose is keeps me going, and it also keeps me up all night. I am constantly wondering about the next step, always asking God, “Am I where I’m supposed to be?” “Am I doing what I’m supposed to be doing?” Ultimately, I trust God and His plan for my life.

MC: You have quite a few ‘slashes’ behind your name — speaker, actress, mental health counselor, reality-show host — the list goes on. How do you find your center when pursuing so many passions?

TB: Someone asked T.D. Jakes a similar question, and his response was congruent with “they’re all under the same umbrella.” I learned a lot from Bishop Jakes’ response, and I have stuck to it.

All of my titles serve one purpose, and that is to uplift the kingdom by using my voice to transform lives.

MC: What role do passions play in your 9 to 5 life?

TB: Passion and purpose are a priority. It is the reason we were created. Each day, I complete one task towards my purpose.

MC: How does one uncover their purpose?

TB: Ask yourself, What kind of job would make me happy? What job would allow me enough flexibility to work on my passion? What job would foster my growth? In the end, it’s about getting back to what you love doing.

MC: Who are your favorite actresses?

TB: I truly admire Viola Davis, Regina King, Cicely Tyson, Angela Bassett, Kimberly Elise and Meryl Streep.

MC: What is your ultimate role as an actress?

TB: I would love to play a resilient mother, wife, sister, or daughter who overcomes a difficult situation because of her faith and hard work.

MC: What’s your favorite sweet treat after a long week?

TB: Cookies ‘n cream ice cream, or anything with chocolate in it. I am a down-home southern girl who loves good food.

MC: How can we keep an eye out for your upcoming projects?

TB: Visit www.tamekabob.com for all the latest. You can also follow me on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and on Periscope @mekabob.

© Maisha L. Cannon and Career View, 2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner are strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Maisha L. Cannon with appropriate and specific direction to the original content at maishacannon.com.

--

--