About

Youngbok Hong
Collaborative Action Research in Design
1 min readMar 10, 2017

Hi, I’m Youngbok Hong. I’m a design educator and researcher currently teaching at Herron School of Art and Design, Indiana University Indianapolis.

The title of this site, Collaborative Action Research in Design: Begin with Empathy. Unfold Meanings. Make Change Together., sums up my approach to Design. If you look up a dictionary and search for the definition of design, you will find many definitions. The underlying idea across those descriptions is that design is a purposeful act and a form of thinking to improve a situation where our daily life takes place. This implies that design is always intended to create possibilities. My work is dedicated to activating or cultivating this capacity in everyone and making changes together for the common good.

Collaborative Action Research in Design (CARD) is the design research methodology that I have developed and practiced since 2011. This methodology serves Public Scholarship through its participatory and systematic inquiry approach. The site showcases selected projects and outcomes achieved using this methodology. Each tab in the menu reflects the types of contexts where the methodology was employed.

Approaching design as a form of inquiry in collaborative problem-solving can help create a more empathetic and inclusive society. I hope these examples spark conversations among advocates for people-centered innovation

This link will lead you to my CV.

You can also find my short bio on the Herron website.

--

--