Fiction Posting Experiment

Lisa W
Collaborative Chronicles
2 min readJul 27, 2017

Day 1

This is much more scientific than my experiment will be…

I’ve been posting fiction on Medium for a little while now and I’ve found that my non-fiction pieces have gained much more traction and much more green love than any of my fiction, by a long way. (This saddens my little fiction writer heart.)

So, in the spirit of discovery, I have decided to carry out a bit of an experiment:

I found a few other places online where emerging fiction writers post their stories and I’m going to post the same stories on these different sites over a period of a month or so to see if the results are any different depending on where I post.

Please, get out your fingers for me and keep them crossed. There is a chance that I will find out that really it’s not them, it’s me, and all of my stories are just terrible, awful things. If that happens, I’m going to need some TLC and moral support…

Now, I know that to get any traction on these sites you have to get involved in the community a bit so I am going to read and comment on at least one story a day from each of the sites (if I have time). I’ll make sure that my interactions and follows are the same on each site.

Believe me, I know this isn’t very scientific but I am interested to see what the results will be.

The sites I have chosen are Wattpad, Inkspired, Tablo and Prose. If any of you have any experience with those or any tips on how to best make use of these sites, please let me know in the comments. Also if you’ve discovered any other useful sites for posting fiction, I’d be glad to hear about those too.

I’ll let you know how I am doing in a couple of weeks. Wish me luck!

Thanks for reading. You can find out more about me at lisawilton.com.

--

--

Lisa W
Collaborative Chronicles

Writer, photographer, tamer of animals, mother of cats, grower of trees & plants, herbal concoctress, occasional comedian. Blogs at www.ethicallywell.com