The Moment I Truly Became a Pro

There’s a Writing Champion in All of Us

Blake Powell
Collaborative Chronicles
3 min readJun 4, 2017

--

“A goal without a plan is only a wish” -Unknown

I’ve been an amateur for most of my life — at least, an amateur in my attitude towards what counts for the career I really want to have. And that’s being a full-time writer no matter what.

Through my time growing up I had a lot of imagination, but I didn’t read. I didn’t pick up a book unless it was assigned as homework.

And although I can regret that now, it’s way past time for regret. Lamenting on that does not matter, as it does nothing for my forward progress as someone making a name and career for myself as a creative.

You’re probably thinking I became a pro the first time I read. But that’s not true.

Lots of people wanting to live their dreams read and think and imagine new worlds to create. The thing is, so many of us never set out and do just that. Instead, we wallow in self-pity, wait for the right moment, and freeze as we become paralyzed in fear.

Because we never take the consistent actions we need to take to make our dreams a reality, so our vision of ourselves suffers as a result.

So, You’re Wondering, When Did I Really Become a Pro?

Here’s what I really think: the only thing really separating the pro from the amateur is that they not only want to do something, but they actually get up and do the work towards doing it every single day. That’s it.

The minute I became a pro is when I realized my dreams wouldn’t come to me by waiting. By even slicing out an inch today, I could build upon my dream for tomorrow. The minute I became a pro is when I created for creation’s sake, when I stopped paying attention to my stats, when I stopped reaching out to influencers hoping they’d share my stuff, and when I really buckled down and got to work consistently writing every day.

You see, being a pro has nothing to do with maintaining a to-do list or transcendental meditation or being productive or “hustling.”

The only way you become a pro is by doing the work. By inspiring yourself to do the work and then actually following through on it.

As many writers have said, it’s not the writing part that’s hard.

It’s the sitting down part that really matters.

Thanks for reading! If you liked this, please click that ❤ to make sure others discover this, too.

Blake is an author, cat lover, and coffee fanatic based in Vancouver, Canada. He’s on a mission to help writers step into their potential and create their dream lives. If you’re looking to take your writing to the next level, you can download a FREE copy of “The Bulletproof Writer’s Handbook” to conquer the blank page today.

Alternatively, you can pledge to become a Patron here. By doing so, you’ll receive access to exclusive content and tools every month designed to help you become the writer you were meant to be.

--

--

Blake Powell
Collaborative Chronicles

I’m a writer, dreamer, and lover of ☕ as well as a future Financial Planner. Get tips on writing by downloading my FREE book -> http://bit.ly/become-bulletproof