Where is my motivation?

Lora Edwards
Collaborative Chronicles
2 min readJul 6, 2017

The writing group that I am a part of did this really awesome challenge. You posted to medium everyday for 30 days. Ok I thought to myself, you can do this. And I did….well somewhat I think, I made about 15 of those days but I saw some reads outside of my writing group, and had some people check out my website, and my newsletter.

Then the experiment was over….and, I quit. I had good momentum going and I just stalled out on myself. Happens a lot with my writing. I am trying to find good ways to get up the motivation to write. I have the time, lunch hours, when the kids are sleeping, at slow points during my day job….

These are times that I should write. I love to write it does not feel like a chore (most of the time) and my first novel was well received by my editor, and I want to publish it. I love writing these short little pieces for Medium, and this is the perfect platform for all those short stories I want to write that do not have enough to fill a novel, or that are so out of my genre that it would screw the Amazon algorithim for me forever.

So please can someone tell me why it is so hard to just sit down and write?

Where do you guys get motivation from? Drop me a line in the comments, and if you liked this article don’t forget the little green heart. :)

--

--