Reflective Worlds

Dani Kirkham
Collected Blog Posts of a Bipolar Author
2 min readMar 9, 2020

So a lot of us are creators of some kind. Writers, artists, game designers, musicians, etc. All deeply personal endeavors that reflect the creators. Probably see where this is going.

As a writer, I find a lot of my work reflecting how I see the world in a given moment. I’ve written things about personal identity when I was forced to move a lot, I’ve written about capitalism being bullshit when I felt broke and defected (not that I wouldn’t write that anyway, but still), and a lot of my older stuff was about fantasy and adventure when I felt incredibly bored just… all the time. Hell, I wrote Apartment Hunting while LITERALLY apartment hunting.

But I don’t think I’ve written anything about my BiPolar just yet, at least not directly. Ok, so I’ve written about it HERE, obviously, but I mean in a fiction sense. It’s definitely something that’s crossed my mind, but I’ve never really found a vector for it. There isn’t really a good way to inflict it on someone in a tabletop game, and I’ve never really found a way to portray it accurately in a short story. Once could argue that all of these are a part of the expression of my Bipolar disorder, but none of them are about the whole thing. I don’t even know of anyone who has written fiction about this sort of thing, and DEFINITELY no fantasy about it.

So I guess this week I’m just positing a question:
What are some stories you guys know about that were written as a reflection of Bipolar disorder? Leave it in the comments/responses or shout it at me on twitter @creepbard

As always, thanks to my Patrons for supporting me over on patreon.com/bardsgambit

Special shoutouts to:

AJ
John Beckelhymer
Katie Coker
Tyler Litton
Sara White
Thaddius Goldner
William Moton
Serenity Tomala
Brett Schoonover
Elliot Chapple

--

--

Dani Kirkham
Collected Blog Posts of a Bipolar Author

A writer and storyteller writing about: Mental Health, Video Games, Tabletop Games, Short Stories, all written as blog posts or articles