Sanity in the Little Things

Dani Kirkham
Collected Blog Posts of a Bipolar Author
2 min readJan 20, 2020

So recently I moved into a new place, and it’s pretty wildly different than almost every other place I’ve ever lived in. First and foremost, the space is significantly smaller than everyone I’ve lived before. I’ve been in the weird situation where all of the places I could afford beyond high school have been pretty sizable, and I didn’t realize until recently just how much that changes the way I feel about my living space. Because the kitchen and living room combined are the size of half of my old living room (and but still decently sized) I don’t feel overwhelmed at the prospect of cleaning. Hell, I clean DAILY now, when I used to clean MAYBE once a week, if I felt like it. But here? Every night I straighten up the living room, pick up everyone’s dishes, etc., without even a second thought. It’s a little surreal.

Its interesting how a change of living space can drastically change your mood. Not just the act of moving, but the kind and size of the place you move into. I used to think I needed a lot of space to move around in, but when you actually look at how I act at home, that doesn’t really make sense. I spend a lot of time seated in front of things (PCs, TVs, Tables), and really only vigorously move around if I’m out and about.

This feels a little rambling, I apologize. I’m in the middle of a commission and only remembered I needed to write this post at 9 PM. That’s only 8 hours late, it’s fine. I’ve also not felt particularly stressed or upset lately, so this is the rare “life is actually good” post, which are unfortunately pretty short. Ok, this IS rambling now, look forward to something more coherent next week.

--

--

Dani Kirkham
Collected Blog Posts of a Bipolar Author

A writer and storyteller writing about: Mental Health, Video Games, Tabletop Games, Short Stories, all written as blog posts or articles