Slipping into Trouble

Dani Kirkham
Collected Blog Posts of a Bipolar Author
2 min readJul 12, 2020

This week I accidentally slipped into a crash diet, and made myself slightly ill.

It wasn’t anything that happened deliberately. It was just a series of accidents and frustration. As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve come out as Agender, and doing so has made me a little more interested in trying different clothing styles. Specifically, I’d really like to feel comfortable in a crop top and jacket, but I feel like I’m a bit too pudgy to do so. So I thought I’d lose a bit of weight. I picked up a bunch of fresh vegetables for salads, bought chicken breasts, and some granola for snacks.

And then I accidentally let the chicken go bad. And some of my weekend foods (frozen pizza) got used up. And soon all I was eating was salads and granola bars. Pretty sure I was only eating about 400 calories a day by the end of it.

Luckily, I called off work on Wednesday because of how sick I was feeling, and tried to figure out why I wasn’t feeling well. About midday I realized what had happened, so I ordered some shitty fast food and talked to some friends. They helped me come up with a meal plan that worked for me, convinced me to get on a diet app, and gave me some encouragement. I’m doing pretty good too, though I’ve been slacking on the walking…

Weight loss is a noble goal, but it isn’t easy to do. It takes patience and understanding how your body works, and a cheat day every now and then to keep yourself going. And more importantly, introspection to keep yourself from tripping along the way. In that sense, it’s very similar to taking care of your mental health. Pay attention to how you function, make sure you call out your own abnormalities when you can, and get help if it becomes a problem.

Special Thanks to:

AJ
John Beckelhymer
Jonathon Chu
Katie Coker
Tyler Litton
Sara White
Thaddius Goldner
William Moton
Serenity Tomala
Brett Schoonover
Elliot Chapple

--

--

Dani Kirkham
Collected Blog Posts of a Bipolar Author

A writer and storyteller writing about: Mental Health, Video Games, Tabletop Games, Short Stories, all written as blog posts or articles