Alive

Francis Rosenfeld
Collected Poems by Francis Rosenfeld
1 min readAug 17, 2020

--

The soft breeze that touched me

has opened the sky

and sun dappled brightness like honey,

but who has the time for the birds in the trees

and genially watching the bunnies?

The grass looks alive

from the touch of the rain

and smells like a bright summer morning,

though summer is slowly approaching its end

and colorful leaves started falling.

Actaea racemosa (Black Snakeroot)
Actaea racemosa

I…is there an I where I stand,

or only the memory humming,

of all the past mornings collected before

the sun of this day started shining?

So total the feeling it is of this now,

that wraps so much comfort around me,

it draws all my soul to the being around,

the larger still me I’m becoming.

And voices insist that I come back to Earth,

they chide me for being absentminded.

But wait for a second,

you don’t understand!

I’m paying attention to it,

finally!

--

--