But love always is

Francis Rosenfeld
Collected Poems by Francis Rosenfeld
1 min readJul 18, 2016

--

My spirit is heavy with the time I squandered driving in first gear,

one light shining dimly to dispel the darkness,

all the way holding on to the promise my ancestors cherished

that love always is.

I feel it finding my keys when I’m late and frazzled.

It adjusts the blanket over my shoulders when I shiver,

and touches my forehead, concerned, waiting for the fever to break.

I hear it whisper the right answers to those questions meant

to catch me unaware.

So just in case you can’t see it clearly through the tears

and worry you might have dropped it that dark night

when you took out the garbage in the middle of a snow storm,

don’t worry, it is still there, I can see it from here,

love always is.

--

--