How Much Longer?

--

The sun paints bright patterns on the ground, I languish for spring.

How much longer, how much longer, I ask, how much longer?

The sharp clean spears of daffodils are pushing away oblivion

With chlorophyll painted tips grasping at the sun.

How much longer, asks the cherry tree, how much longer, asks the blushing rose,

Until the loving, sunny, bright and hopeful happiness rushes back into my life.

Come out of the darkness, of the dried up, cracked up suspended nothing

To enjoy how vivid the colors, how full the buds, how cheerful the birds.

I anxiously scratch at the ground looking for curled up purple fronds of peonies

For little heart shaped leaves of violets, for overwintered sprays of snapdragons.

I long for the perfumed breath of blooming trees, when branches look dipped in sea foam

When the air caresses your alveoli as it moves through your lungs, healing.

I miss the periwinkle skies, the fluffy white clouds, the perfect morning light

When nothing ever goes wrong, nothing, when life soaks in never ending joy and delight.

So, how much longer?

--

--