I, Woman

Francis Rosenfeld
Collected Poems by Francis Rosenfeld
2 min readJun 21, 2017

--

I value my freedom, I value my truth.

Don’t tell me what I think, don’t dig up my roots,

don’t push me around so I do what you say,

don’t use my demeanor to back your own way.

Don’t make up fake confines to keep me contained,

don’t bring up traditions to make me obey.

I know my own vows and my cherished beliefs,

don’t use them to cover your dubious deeds.

We live in the blessing of wonderful times

when history’s changing and energy climbs,

when what we think matters and what we do thrives,

and when we can see life through each other’s eyes.

When we can choose living our years free of lies

skip stepping the hurdles deception implies,

when hurt to a person is hurt to us all,

when no one’s alone, unimportant or scorn.

We’re cajoled as the weaker, the nurturing gender

after all of the progress our struggle has rendered,

after millions of Rosies saved life from the brink,

after bright minds and strong wills were gone in a blink,

after working and working, and working some more

so our daughters could build on our strength their own core,

after carrying three times the load of a man,

after having to push hard and smile through the pain,

after knocking for ages on unopened doors,

after grinding our teeth to insensitive lore,

after getting imprisoned for stating our views,

after being attacked for defending the truth,

we stand on the shoulders of those who had courage

to banish unfairness, to question compliance.

I offer my nurturing, soft, feeble shoulders

to hold the rampart for the rights of our daughters.

--

--