On Being Here

Francis Rosenfeld
Collected Poems by Francis Rosenfeld
2 min readNov 14, 2016

--

On being here, on living here, on being lived by me:

One for the stone, two for the wind, three for the perfect sea

Four for the love, five for the mist, six for the blessed ground

Seven and eight to redirect, nine to call back around

Ten to decide what tide to ride to help the spirit thrive

On being here, on living here, on being lived by life.

On dreaming dreams, on waking up, on seeing far away

One for the gift, two for the field, three for the sunset bay,

Four for the bells, five for the glimpse, six memory restores

Seven and eight your soul reflect, nine opens up the doors

Ten seeks your role and keeps you whole and helps you find the truth

On dreaming dreams, on waking up, on being lived by youth.

On making ways, on getting through, on qualities revealed,

One is to touch, two is to share, three is to strengthen will,

Four cuts a wave, five turns you brave, six brings the scented rain

Seven and eight restore your breath, nine takes away the pain

Ten keeps you near to steer you clear and charms away the fears

On making ways, on getting through, on living out your years.

Believe or not, cast truth or doubt, to me that’s all ok

My soles wore out the silver dust along the winding way

From ten to one I left behind the fear, the loss, the hurt

From one to ten I came to gain the fullness of my heart.

I’m making ways, I’m dreaming dreams, I cast out all qualms aside

While I’m still here, while I breathe air, while I am lived by life.

--

--