Reality Can Never Disappoint Me

Francis Rosenfeld
Collected Poems by Francis Rosenfeld
1 min readNov 21, 2016

--

I touched the world lightly, to feel its heartbeat

the pulse of life beneath the things,

and I know that this heart beats for me,

like I’m the only one it ever sees.

Through life’s ups and downs

I have asked myself this question,

and every time I do, life’s heart skips a beat.

It can’t bear the shadow I breathe into it.

There is too much love and beauty to trample

under foot, and who am I to dump regrets into its dreams

when all it wants is love?

I look out to the world to see its beauty, its freedom, its resilience.

I look inside myself to mind the seeds of my days yet to come.

So, to return to my question;

I breathe my soul into this world with every breath I take

and thus, reality can never disappoint me.

--

--