Hate will kill you if you let it. I be damned if I do.

Nicole Young
Collected Young Minds
1 min readJan 10, 2020

First written November 27, 2014 by Enchanta Jackson

The aftermath of Darren Wilson not getting indicted…

Anxiety and depression are far too common in our community, especially among our activist, our organizers and those of us who care. I lost love as a pre-teen. I lost trust in white people as racism awakened me from my peaceful slumber. I lost trust in black people as drugs invaded our people and took control of my mother. It’s taken over 13 years for me to learn how to love again, and I’m still learning. It is not easy, but I refuse to stop loving. One day I will be so full of love that I only speak compassion and do not waste time basking in anger. Until then, I will live my life pushing against racism through advocacy, exercise, therapy, healing, enjoying nature, painting, reading, laughing, drinking bourbon and promising to love myself and my black and brown people, and to love my white people too. Hate will kill you if you let it. I be damned if I do.

--

--

Nicole Young
Collected Young Minds

Nicole is a writer, educator, and procrasti-baker, living in Philly. She‘s also a proud graduate of the University of South Carolina and VA native.