Hi. My name is Pitu and I am a toy addict. 

How i began to collect toys and hunt rare ones.

Pitu
Collecting Toys

--

Tusken Raider from Power of the Force 2.

My hands are shacking of excitement, I am running with my mom at my flank. I am 12 years old, and no, she is not chasing me because I am trying to run away from home. We are inside a Toys ‘R’ Us with one goal: Find the Star Wars Power of the Force Tusken Raider action figure that had a closed left hand . It seems that some of those figures left China with out getting the hand dremeled , and because of this minor error they were rare and very sought after. That was part of my childhood.

ToyFare #134 Oct 2008

I was always up to date with what was new in the toy world thanks to a little magazine called ToyFare that came about at the right time for me in 1997. Thanks to my mom getting it for me every month I kept chasing figures with her, and that is how my addiction to toys began. My mom always supported me with what ever i did, except for when i wanted to try and fly from the top of the mountains in Puerto Rico cause i was sure i could. I mean Superman did it. Why couldn't I?

I had many adventures like this with my mom. Hunting down new McFarlane Spawn figures, Beast Wars Transformers and of course Star Wars figures among many others. They were great times, and having my mom to share them with was great, and allowed me to become the person i am now. For better or worse, lol! She would sometimes check out the shops while i was at school just in case that elusive toy i was hunting would make an appearance.

Me circa 1990 with My favorite toy. Batman! I think that was the Arctic Version.

I thank my mother for allowing me to follow my passion. For not buying me everything i wanted and making me work for my toys. Because of this hobby i have had fantastic experiences, traveled to places i never thought i would see and have met a number of phenomenal people from fans to CEOs and even some famous peeps that love toys. I have forged life time friendships, and none of this would have been possible without that person in my live that told me it was OK for me to collect toys and follow my heart.

Well this is the first time i have truly written anything like this. I mainly do video and trust me, i cant articulate anything when im pumped about toys, so i do apologize for the unprofessional aspect of it but i wanted to share this before i wrote anything else. Ill be sharing more on my life as a collector and tips on everything about collecting toys i have learned during my years. I hope you enjoy this, and my future posts and take something useful from them every time.

--

--

Pitu
Collecting Toys

Toy Collector. Love helping out other collectors. And have one mission: To Bring all collectors together.#ToyLife