Meet Andre!

The Collective
The Collectivist
Published in
3 min readFeb 5, 2018

Justice warrior and jet-setter.

The Collective Old Oak is home to an amazing and diverse community. It brings together more than 500 people from around the world, from all walks of life. Together they create a rich network of perspectives and experiences. Continuing our new series We Are The Collective, our community members tell us their stories.

We sat down with Andre, the director of The Collective Foundation. Our charitable arm provides access and mindful support to aspiring entrepreneurs, promising students and industry leaders.

Andre in the lobby at The Collective Old Oak

What motivates you?

“When I was 15, I started volunteering for human rights organisations because I felt a strong sense of injustice taking place. I was working for organisations standing up for children and their right to be heard. It motivated me because I’ve gone through some things myself that I wouldn’t want others to go through, and feel that same sense of injustice. Living life and doing work that isn’t impactful is not meaningful for me. The opportunity to create a positive impact and leave behind a legacy motivates me.”

What’s your favourite place in the world?

“My favourite place in the world is Bali, Indonesia. The first time I visited, within three days, I completely fell in love with the island. I knew I had to come back again. The people are so lovely and the beach is magical. It washes away all your worries — I was in a constant state of bliss. It’s my favourite place to be. I really want to go back — I don’t think it’s a place I’ll grow out of.”

What’s a moment when you felt sheer happiness?

“One of my happiest moments was… when I think back, I just see this visual where it’s very sunny and I see red when I close my eyes, laying on the beach when I was 13 or 14. My friends and I used to go to this lake near our school. In the summer, we’d go every day and just lay down and do nothing. Those carefree days, I look back on as one of my happiest memories. It’s a feeling tied to that period of my life.”

Andre outside The Collective Old Oak

How did you overcome a struggle in your life?

“I’ve had some events that were a big struggle for me when I was a kid, up till I was 11. I don’t know if you can overcome certain struggles, as some things always stay with you. The most you can do is control what it does to you, how it shapes you as a person. For a long period of my life, I wouldn’t think about it — ignorance is bliss. But when you confront something and take time to process it… there’s not much you can do except let time go by. I’d say time, letting time pass by. Everything passes with time, especially something that you can’t really control.”

Photos by Julian Dodd, PlanningResource.

To learn more about The Collective Foundation and the work we do, visit our website.

--

--

The Collective
The Collectivist

Co-living pioneers unlocking the world’s greatest cities for the creative and ambitious. Discover a new way to live, work and play.