Zuzu Perkal above her original mural in Austin, TX. Photo by Emad Rashidi

Meet the 15 mural artists who #CreatedwithGoogleFiber

Michelle Murphy
COLLIDE
14 min readJul 30, 2018

--

LLast year I found a mural outside of our partner Louisville Visual Art’s office that read “You Are Here.” Such a simple phrase, and yet it meant so much to me in that moment, because it felt like I was exactly where I was supposed to be: applying my passion for public art to my work, producing murals for a national campaign with Google Fiber.

Me, outside of the LVA office in Louisville

The goal of this project was to create community-building activations in celebration of Fiber’s expansion to several new cities: Louisville, Nashville, Kansas City, San Antonio, Austin and Huntsville. After tapping into the cultural nuances of each community, we quickly noticed that each city Fiber selected had a unique and booming art culture, where artists connect with the world and each other via social media and the Internet. A series of murals felt like the perfect way to connect a digital product to active community members in an organic way they were already familiar with.

It’s rare to be able to pursue your passions through work — for me, the timing of this project couldn’t have been better. For a little over a year now, I’ve been building my side hustle as a “pupfluencer,” taking photos of my dog Watson in front…

--

--

Michelle Murphy
COLLIDE

Managing Director @Use All Five. I write about career growth, mentorship, organization, and wellness. Stay in touch: https://medium.com/subscribe/@michjmurphy