Observing America as an Alien

Tynessa Jue
COLLIDE
Published in
4 min readNov 16, 2018

--

How do you contribute to a democracy when you can’t vote?

In the wake of this year’s midterm elections, I’m especially conscious of inconsistencies in voting rights and access for different Americans. From the 340,000 citizens in the state of Georgia whose voter registrations were completely deleted, to physical polling locations being closed down in geographical neighborhoods, the reality of voter suppression among specific groups shows us that some are deemed more “American” than others. Within this context, I find the choice not to vote, specifically by those whose right to vote is so readily available to them, controversial and troubling.

I didn’t vote, because I can’t.

Under the GOP, I’m labeled as an Alien. To be clear Alien does not mean illegal, nor is it synonymous with immigrant — a term that’s been inaccurately framed over the past two years as a negative. Aliens like me, who originate from all over the world, live, work, and contribute to America like everyone else; we dedicate our professional skill set to this country’s brain gain, often within creative industries; and we pay Federal and State taxes without benefitting from programs like Social Security and Unemployment Insurance. I equally experience the ups and downs of being a person of color in a patriarchal workforce like many other Americans.

Still, I can’t vote. I was a forced bystander during the midterm elections, and will continue to be for future voting opportunities. I’m simply not afforded that right.

Living in America, I’m hypersensitive to being the “other.” This shapes my perspective on 1) What it means to be American; and 2) how to contribute to a democracy I’m not able to civically shape. The conclusion is: I don’t need to vote to be what I consider “American.” I’ve found the following three actions and beliefs to be just as strong as voting power.

Stickers made by IM VOTING

Choosing Love over Hate

This political climate is terrifying. Trust has been lost in national and community leaders, and it’s hard for that trust to be re-built. Fear and hate are divisive, global phenomenons that feel ever present in culture.

In the creative industry, I sometimes see brands shy away from strong opinions, styles, and voices. Discomfort prevents them from embracing great solutions in the name of their brands, or transitioning away from what they’re used to. I understand the fear of being different, and of the unknown. But I believe when we are given problems, the best solutions are often hiding behind a layer of fear. By choosing to approach my work from a place of love and embracing my differentness as a tool, this allows me to approach problem solving and developing impact-focused work from another angle; a perspective that’s beneficial to brands, clients, and society alike. Consistently, I’ve seen creative success attributed to building that same mindset, both internally amongst teams and externally by brands.

Poem by Rupi Kaur

Using my dollar as my vote

Remaining an informed consumer may be just as powerful as a vote for a politician. My dollars support brands when I like what they’re doing, and how they’re doing it. The socioeconomic and environmental impact is immediately felt both at the local level and grander production and distribution level.

Embracing my different-ness as a creative lens

America is a global powerhouse for creativity and innovation. From corporations like Google and Facebook to individuals like Oprah and Whitney Wolfe, we’re all created and made here. The creative culture that lives and breathes in America cannot be replicated elsewhere. It spans across every industry, from tech to environment, and the arts to entertainment.

American Innovator, Whitney Wolfe

I’m hired, poached and recruited because I’m valued for my individual perspective — “differentness” is what shapes some of the biggest brands through creative storytelling and solutions. My differentness actually affords me the right to be here, contributing through creativity and business innovation.

I’d say I’m a very proud, proactive, individual amongst American society. If I could vote, I would, and I hope everyone who has that right chooses to exercise it. Instead, I along with 1.4 million other foreigners and Aliens continue to hustle, dream big and contribute to America with actions and talent that I believe helps build this country we know and love.

enso is a creative impact agency.
We work with innovative companies and organizations to create positive impact at scale through shared missions. Learn more at enso.co.

--

--