What JSTEP Means To Me

By Analuisa Cervantes-Romo

To introduce our Fall 2022 team, we will be periodically publishing the personal stories of our team to share more about what JSTEP means to them.

Hello everyone! My name is Luisa, and I am a Sophomore at Barnard studying Math and Computer Science.

At JSTEP, I serve as a Staff Writer and a Junior Editor. I am so excited to begin working with JSTEP. I have always had an appreciation for writing. As an immigrant, English is my second language, and when I first started to go to school, I wasn’t confident in speaking and therefore focused on developing my communication skills through writing. I debated all four years of high school, and researching different bills was always my favorite thing to do, which led me to develop a love for writing about policy. I can’t wait to continue to explore this interest as I research different policies affecting my community that some members of the general public may not even be aware of.

Oftentimes, policies are created using complicated language that is difficult to understand and this language barrier can be used as a tactic to hold power over someone. With this journal, I hope readers can learn about policies affecting them in a way that they can understand so that they can make decisions that they are comfortable with.

I am passionate about researching topics regarding cybersecurity and data privacy, especially because most people don’t know what being tracked means, or what data companies have access to, or how powerful their data really is. JSTEP is the ideal environment for me to broaden my knowledge on these topics, and I am excited to learn more from the wonderful people who make up our community.

Luisa is a Sophomore at Barnard studying Math and Computer Science. She has been interested in social injustices her whole life. During her time at Barnard/Columbia, she began noticing the intersections between technology and marginalized communities. She was moved by the example of Amazon selling biometrics of undocumented immigrants to ICE, and when she first heard this news, she knew she had now learned about a whole new world of ethical issues in the tech community. She believes that tech is invariably becoming part of our lives continuously and we need to make sure we aren’t blinded by our ambition and have consideration for everyone who will be affected by our technology. She is excited to combine her interests in writing, tech (cybersecurity specifically), and social justice through her JSTEP work

--

--

Columbia JSTEP
Columbia Journal of Science, Tech, Ethics, and Policy

Providing a space for interdisciplinary collaboration in writing, research, and creative solution-building to complex issues of the present and future.