Quarantined Cocktails: Basil Gin Fizz

Columbia Venture Community
Columbia Venture Community
4 min readMay 15, 2020

Every Friday I’m sharing professional cocktail tips and tricks for your weekend festivities. I’m covering the classics, adding approachable flavors, and teaching you the techniques you need to make your favorite beverages from home.

I don’t think we need to count the weeks anymore!

We’ve covered a lot of the basics and I’m excited to get more creative with all the fresh produce the NYC `summer has to offer. As always, continuing to follow the formats of the cocktails your favorite bartenders learned first, to build the most innovative beverages you enjoy in cocktail bars.

This week I’m adding a small touch to this centuries-old classic, with the addition of fresh basil! This one is simple, with a touch of class, and will certainly take your at-home cocktails to the next level.

If you want to have even more fun with this, check out its history and SEVERAL more variations that will inspire new ideas.

All you’ll need is:
1 lemon
1 oz Simple Syrup
2 oz Gin
Fresh Basil
1 Egg White
Club Soda
1 Cocktail Shaker, or Protein Shaker
3 Ice Cubes
And a Frosted Glass

Try one this weekend and share your photos, recipes, and riffs with us on Instagram and Facebook. As always, if you have specific ingredients or future requests, shoot an email to quarantinedcocktails@gmail.com.

Full Transcript:

Hey Community! I’m Leigh Ann and this is Quarantined Cocktails, where each week we’re making a new classic cocktail so that over the weekend, you can have a better understanding of the flavors and the spirits that you’re used to drinking while you’re out. And you can recreate some of that at home.

I think at this point, you’ve got a pretty solid understanding of the basics. We’ve walked through some of the techniques, some of the most common classics. And so I’m going to start throwing in just some very simple flavors just to give it a little bit of a twist and add some new elements.

And as we move forward, something I want to circle back on, is tools. I think most of us were not set up to recreate the meals we have at restaurants and cocktails that we’re used to drinking while we’re out. So I want to also work with some of that stuff to make these seem maybe a little more approachable. I want them to feel as accessible as possible. So I’m also going to use them and I’m going use this protein shaker instead of a tin.

This week I’m going to make a Basil Gin Fizz.

So, we’re gonna start with lemon. And this week, I’m just gonna squeeze it fresh. And I’m really going for about an ounce. Let’s see, yeah. So that’s just about an ounce. And I’m also going to use an ounce of simple syrup.

Which again, is just 50/50 sugar and hot water. Set it aside and shake it up a few times. Very easy to make.

And I’m gonna do two ounces of the gin.

So even if you’re, you know, not exactly at an ounce, if you’re kind of eyeballing it, and you’re doing about, you know, equal parts lemon, and sugar and then twice as much gin. You’re gonna get there!
I did it like this just so we can kind of see.

I’m going to muddle some basil, and I’m going to use a healthy amount. And I’m just actually going to press with a regular kitchen spoon. And this is gonna be an egg white cocktail, which is gonna be a fun part of this week.

This is just your basic eggs that you would get in your grocery store. There’s nothing special to it. Some people are a little freaked out by it, I promise, you’re okay. It adds such a delicious texture to it. You can always make this without the egg white, but I really think you need it.

I’m gonna leave this in. You only need about three ice cubes in this. So you’re gonna give it a really good that ball in there’s gonna help whip it, and you’re not going to over dilute.

Normally, I would fine strain this and make it look very beautiful. I’m guessing that that’s probably something that most people also don’t have. So we’re just gonna pour.

Thank you guys so much for following this series. Please tag us. Let us know what you’re making. Send us pictures. Let me know what you’d like to make next week. And we will see you then.

Cheers!

Just as good with the at-home tools :)

--

--

Columbia Venture Community
Columbia Venture Community

Founded in 2006, CVC is a private network for Columbia students, alumni, and employees interested in all aspects entrepreneurship.