Quarantined Cocktails: La Paloma

Columbia Venture Community
Columbia Venture Community
3 min readMay 22, 2020

Every Friday I’m sharing professional cocktail tips and tricks for your weekend festivities. I’m covering the classics, adding approachable flavors, and teaching you the techniques you need to make your favorite beverages from home.

I don’t think we need to count the weeks anymore!

We’ve covered a lot of the basics and I’m excited to get more creative with all the fresh produce the NYC summer has to offer. As always, continuing to follow the formats of the cocktails your favorite bartenders learned first, to build the most innovative beverages you enjoy in cocktail bars.

HAPPY WORLD PALOMA DAY!! If you’re not very familiar with this cocktail, you’re not alone. The grapefruit-based cousin to the margarita is far more popular in Mexico, than it is here in the US. As far as tequila cocktails are concerned however, the Paloma might be even better.

It’s a widely held opinion amongst cocktail connoisseurs, that grapefruit is a much better pairing with agave spirits than lime is. As much as I love a good margarita, I think I have to agree on this one.

If you’re able to get your hands on a smooth tequila, I’m using Aldez, you’re able to eliminate the sugar component. Relying on the balance of flavor from the tequila and the grapefruit soda, you get a satisfyingly tart, but balanced and refreshing, warm-weather cocktail.

Check out the long winding journey this cocktail had to become the more refined version we make today and enjoy this easy at-home cocktail over the long weekend. Cheers!

All you’ll need is:
Pink Himalayan Salt (regular table salt will do!)
1 Lime
Grapefruit Juice
Tequila (my favorite brand is Aldez)
Grapefruit Soda

As always, please share your photos, recipes, and riffs with us on Instagram and Facebook. If you have specific ingredients or future requests, shoot an email to quarantinedcocktails@gmail.com.

Full Transcript:

Hey community, I’m Leigh Ann! Happy World Paloma Day!!

Palomas are maybe my favorite at-home cocktail. They’re so easy to make. You can just eyeball it in the glass without messing up the flavors too much. The base is my absolute favorite spirit, tequila.

So let’s get right in!

So we start with a little bit of lime. I’m just gonna put about that much. And a good amount of grapefruit, about two ounces.

Also the same amount, two ounces of tequila. I’m absolutely guessing the measurements right now.

And then just a little pinch of salt, topped with some grapefruit soda. San Pelligrino is great if you can’t find Squirt.

I’m doing this before the ice so that everything mixes together.

And a nice little grapefruit wedge in there. Get creative if you want to, throw some mint on there, throw some basil, or whatever you’d like.

Cheers!

Thank you guys so much for following this series. Please let me know what you’d like to see next, and have a wonderful weekend.

--

--

Columbia Venture Community
Columbia Venture Community

Founded in 2006, CVC is a private network for Columbia students, alumni, and employees interested in all aspects entrepreneurship.