Lack of Communication with Financial Aid Extends to All

Serena Williams [Student]
CSU News Team
Published in
3 min readMay 8, 2017

by Serena Williams

The Financial Aid department is important but it’s long been a source of frustration and complaints.

Jennifer McMillion, a current junior at CSU, is one of many students who have experienced negative communication with the Financial Aid department.

“I felt like an inconvenience to them,” said McMillion. “They always seem to have a nasty attitude and don’t want to help you at all.”

McMillion is a biology major in the Pre-Pharmacy track. She transferred to CSU in fall 2016, after starting her degree at CVCC, CSU was her first choice, but due to the lack of communication she was unable to attend. According to McMillion, while she was still in high school, she came to CSU multiple times to get information on financial aid and scholarships; only to receive no useful help and left to figure it out on her own.

“I was handed pamphlets, told to fill out these forms and I would receive an email of what I get,” said McMillion. “I was even told we don’t [give out information on scholarships] do that. You need to go online to find scholarships.”

Columbus State University’s financial aid office communication and interaction with their students has caused many to transfer to finish their degrees at other universities. This has lead the CSU New Team to look into these stories and whether faculty get the same treatment.

Judith Livingston, English Department Chair and Professor, said the communication she has with financial aid is not much.

“Financial aid is different than academics,” said Livingston. “They are separated more like syllos, which means we don’t have much contact as we probably should.”

Livingston went on to express her understanding of the students frustration and discouragement with the financial aid office.

“In order for me to get in touch with someone in the financial aid department, I would have to call the same number as a student,” said Livingston. “I would have to wait like all the other students. I don’t have a direct number to call like I do for the registrar office.”

Caroline Hubbard, former CSU student, had been very discouraged from communication with financial aid at CSU was a major factor in not continuing her education at CSU.

“I had tried many times to speak with someone about my financial aid,” said Hubbard. “My advisor even called while I was being advised and he received no help either, which was even worse.”

Other schools allow students and their faculty to get in touch with the financial aid office and the student’s actual financial aid advisor.

“I’ve went to other universities, spoken to their financial aid department, and been treated better,” said Hubbard. “I can speak to the actual person that is in charge of my file and you would be surprised at the amazing difference it makes.”

While students have a hard time getting through to the financial aid office, it doesn’t stop there. Faculty have to experience the same wait time and no responses as the students. By this lack of communication of the financial aid office with students and faculty it’s no surprise the number of students that transfer from CSU.

--

--