My Audience

Nour Mahdi
COM 224 Class Blog
Published in
4 min readMar 30, 2016

Account profile

The analyzed account belongs to me. It is my personal account. I use this Twitter account to share my thoughts, stories, jokes, advices, opinions, beliefs and anything that would represent me as a person. I do not use it for business purposes, just for entertainment and connecting with the world.

The accounts username is @narnarm. It has 265 followers and its been active since November 2, 2009, about 6 years and 5 months.

Once I created my twitter account, Twitter was not well known in Lebanon, and those who knew it, thought it was more political and newspaper like app. So the number of my followers did not depend on the people I know, thus it was low, in fact it depended on finding people with interests like mine. With time, when people in my country became familiar with what is Twitter, and famous stars and celebrities joined twitter, a lot of people created twitter accounts and back then I started gaining more and more followers.

From what I’ve noticed in these 6 years of being a user. Trends on twitter vary from time to time and depends on the situation happening in reality. For example, I remember back in 2014 when Gaza-israel war happened, twitter did not sleep. I gained extra 50 followers just because of my tweets that supported Palestine. My twitter account was on fire so is everyone who tweeted about the Gaza-israel war.

My most popular posts over the past 6 months are:

My political tweets were the most shared. Also, the tweets where I mention popular people on twitter used to gain retweets, favs and some people just followed me for that.

User demographics

58% of my followers are males and the other 42% are females.

60% of my users are Lebanese, 10% are from the United States, 5% are from Kuwait and the rest are distributed among Egypt, Cote D’voire, United Kingdom, Canada, Algeria, Saudi Arabia and Germany.

78% of my followers are interested in comedy (movies and televisions), 73% in movies news and music, 63% in business and news, and they are least interested in tech news (42%)

It shows that my twitter account interests those people who are interested in comedy, movies, music and business. The interests of my audience reflect what my tweets are about or who I am and that’s how they relate. They look at who I am and see if I meet their interests and then they click the follow button.

I used to have one influential figure among my followers and he is just like any other person. He is not a star, celebrity, or a public figure. He acts as an anonymous, he does not mention his real name in the BIO section, the photo he uses as profile does not belong to him and his username is just a sarcastic nickname. But what he does is he expresses out everyone’s thoughts in sarcastic ways that people would call it “creativity!”. That person is just a normal Lebanese guy that goes to work everyday, have friends, hobbies… etc. 16.1K of users follow him and people always retweet and faviourte his tweets. But he unfollowed me for some reasons about 4 months ago I think because of not being inactive anymore.

Social Capital Analysis

User statistics can tell us a lot about social media audiences. First, they tell us who they are, what are there interests, gender, age, and more details like tops posts, top shared, top view, impression and so on. This info is important for those with business purposes and use social media platforms for promoting. They will tell them more about their followers and this will help them in knowing how to communicate with their audience, become closer and gain more impressions.

The connections of my account reflects social capital because these connection are established through networks. Through social media platforms people are able to create links and connection with others through membership in organizations (following a page of an organization is considered as being a membership), workplace (you can now work online and on social media platforms) or throught networks of friends (Facebook for example bring your friends closer to you).

--

--

Nour Mahdi
COM 224 Class Blog

Someone who is lost between culture, fashion and art