Ass 5Twitter #analytics and much more…

miramatarr
COM 224 Class Blog
Published in
4 min readMar 27, 2016

@miramatarr is my Twitter account. If you ask people why they use Twitter, they would most probably say that Twitter is the best place to share ideas and thoughts. But, I personally use Twitter to talk directly to celebrities including singers, actors, journalists and politicians. And when it comes to ideas and thoughts, certainly I do take the opportunity to share mine with my followers and with the public audience as well (since my account is not private).

Today, I have 173 followers which is according to Twitter Analytics 73 more than the same time 90 days ago.I personally, find it a small number compared to the period I’ve been active on Twitter; I joined it on June 2011.

Having an active following on Twitter isn’t just about prestige, and followers aren’t just numbers. Twitter followers hold real value. And as I seek popularity, I always take the opportunity to increase my audience through many ways:

  1. Follow more people. Research shows a correlation between the number of people followed and the number of followers.

2. Optimize my Twitter bio. Users who want to find out more about me will inevitably visit me Twitter bio. As we will see below, 82% of my followers are interested in music, 56% are interested in news and 45% are interested in books. On the other hand, it’s mentioned in my bio that I’m a guitarist, I’m majoring in journalism and I love books. Does it make sense now?

3. Search keywords and hashtags that relate to my audience. I use them to enter into conversations and get noticed, and then I follow influencers who can help spread the word about my tweets.

For the last six month, Lebanese people were most interested in politics and the corruption that has spread from politicians and has led to the drowning of Lebanese people in garbage, in addition to other economic, health and environmental scandals.

And since Twitter offers a direct connection between both politicians and citizens, people use that medium in order to promote their thoughts and raise their voice.

As a Lebanese citizen, I always tend to tweet about politics. But I give my opinion in the garbage issue as well, I celebrate national days, I express my anger towards some situations. Lately, I tweeted intensely about the singer “Ahlam” who drew a direct insult to the Lebanese people and I got a really high feedback.

It should be noted that the most popular posts were the same as those who were most widely shared. Because it’s normal, when tweets are being retweeted, they are getting more reactions, likes and views as well.

Twitter Analytics show that 64% of my followers are boys, the thing that doesn’t surprise me since my tweets are usually tough and include subjects that interest boys more than girls.

With followers from Lebanon coming first with 50% (since most of my tweets talk about local/Lebanese issues).

I’m more than happy to proudly announce that my top follower is my idol and favorite journalist and TV presenter “Marcel Ghanem” who followed me recently. Today, Marcel has 572.5k followers. He is not just a TV journalist but an influential figure as well. Why? Because he has been working in this field for 21 years and following such an acknowledged expert is obviously worth it.Personally, I would say that the best pro of using Twitter is that it offers me an endless communication with my beloved icons I would not connect with without using such a social medium.

We notice how we moved from showing Twitter Analytics to more serious concept which is Social capital.

Social capital is defined as the links and connections people establish through membership in organizations, or at the workplace or through their network of friends.

Bridging social capital is about creating connections between people who don’t already know one another and have divergent interests. Twitter is a great tool for this. As an open medium, it connects far more people that don’t have existing connections.

“The future starts now.” So as a “journalist to be”, I’m building my audience and followers in order to establish my own identity. And as a responsible person, I take advantage of all the opportunities that enable me promote and prove myself in such a competitive world.

--

--

miramatarr
COM 224 Class Blog

Multimedia Journalism Student at the Lebanese American University